NaNoWriMo approaches…

It’s truly feeling like fall here in Pennsylvania.  The leaves are changing, the air is crisp, and our local grapes have just been gathered.

Fall also means that the National Novel Writing Month is approaching.  For those of you unfamiliar with NaNoWriMo, it is a non-profit organization that encourages people to bust out their pencils, typewriters, and laptops to write a 50,000 word novel in one month beginning November 1st.  That’s an average of 1,667 words every day, a challenge that has defeated me in past years.  But last year I managed to reach the lofty 50k goal, and I intend to do the same this year.

As you can imagine, this requires some planning.  I have spoken to plenty of writers on the NaNoWriMo forums who fly by the seat of their pants and have fun doing it, but I want to put a little more thought into it.  Not planning is what defeated me before, that and a lack of discipline (I’m workin’ on it).  My story from last year, though certainly fleshed out, is still not complete, so it will be my task to finish the rough draft this year.  Whew.  It’s going to be tough, but I am very much looking forward to seeing where my characters end up.  I’ll be working on an outline for the remainder of October before I jump into full-blown writing on Nov. 1st.  My fantasy novel IS going to be published someday, but I need that rough draft first!  It’s going to be my birthday present to myself at the end of the month.

What about you, Readers?  Have you ever attempted NaNoWriMo?  If so, how did it go for you?  If you’re prepping to write a story this year, share about it in the comments, and good luck!

-MEP

One thought on “NaNoWriMo approaches…

  1. I’ve only recently even heard about NaNoWriMo – actually blogged about it today. I’m thinking of starting a new project with it – a lot of ideas are competing for attention right now.
    Good luck with your manuscript.

    Like

Leave a Reply

