Ye olde textbooks

So, as you guys know, I’m striving to turn writing into a daily habit of mine.  I’ve only had moderate success up to this point.  The chaotic turmoil that has been the first few months of 2016 isn’t really settling down, so there’s no time like the crazy present to build this habit.  Waiting until things calm down would be…well, let’s just say I don’t think things are going to calm down.  So I’m attacking it with renewed vigor instead.

This past week I’ve been really getting back to the journaling, and I’m using one of my textbooks from a Creative Writing class I took many moons ago in college as a source for prompts and training.  The book is Imaginative Writing: The Elements of Craft by Janet Burroway, and the first chapter on image has been an excellent warm-up.  I can already feel my writing muscles limbering up nicely with the “Try This” prompts Burroway has scattered throughout the book.

You know what’s sad but not surprising?  I’m getting more use out of this textbook now than I ever did during the college class I purchased it for.  And that’s not the only leftover and under-used textbook I have sitting on my bookshelf.  I have books from three or four writing and literature classes that I will be using to teach myself this year (Who needs college?  Bah!).

I’ve already made reading my Bible an almost-daily habit over the past several months, and I’ve slipped writing in the time slot immediately following it.  I find the two work together very well.  Shoot, the scripture readings and prayer requests often spill over into my journaling for the day and sometimes wind their way into an idea for a story.  So these are two habits I have every intention of continuing to build and strengthen.

Okay, I’ve blathered enough for now.  It’s nearly midnight and while I am a night owl at heart, I’m also a six-month pregnant night owl who has work in the morning.  So I must bid you all adieu and good night for now.

– MEP

Leave a Reply

